Today I set my alarm for the begrudgingly early start to go to the truly vintage wedding fair at Glemham Hall, and to quickly sum it up, it was definitely worth it! 

In this I will go through the hall, gardens and the highlights of the exhibitors I got to meet in the marquee. 

Glemham Hall is right on the Suffolk end of the A12, a glamorous Elizabethan country house. The ceremony room is a fair size that can hold up to, 95 guests, surprisingly cool in there too- ideal for summer weddings! There’s room for a pianist, string group, any kind of musician that would tie the civil ceremony. 

Then after the ceremony you can explore the Rose Garden, a stunning scene for the formal photos. Personally I believe the gardens need a little touch up, but then again it’s still a beautiful sight to look at. Another great photo point is the archway you go through to get to the marquee, it’s naturally formed with the surrounding trees but illuminated with LED string lights. This makes the archway into a romantic pathway and I am living for it! 

And want to know the best part? The price! I was very shocked to read the price lists for the country house, with a civil ceremony followed by a reception in the marquee starting at £2,000! Prices depend on the day and season, other packages are available such as meal and drink packages. 

The exhibitors in the marquee definitely fitted the vintage theme, when walking in I was given a goodie bag with most of the contact details of the exhibitors inside (and a cheeky mini bottle of processo, don’t mind if I do!). Although there was one thing I recognised when talking to some of these exhibitiors, I was mostly given a sort of funny look when I explained that I’m a wedding planner, not a bride. Is there a secret rule that wedding planners can’t go to these events? Do we just magically have a big book of contacts on the get go? If I’m missing in a secret community please let me know. 

But enough about that, let’s talk about the highlights of the fair. As there all in all events, there were a few photobooths- but both very different. One involved a converted horse box, very unique in that sense and perfect for outdoor venues. Squeezed Limes offer a single package for everyone, with unlimited prints, time and duplicates of the photos for a personalised photo book where your guests can leave a message for the happy couple for £475.

The other photo booth involved an interactive mirror, it was hard to see with how bright it was so it’s definitely a feature for the evening! The mirror was fun to use with the options to draw and add emojis to it, think of it like a big snapchat mirror. The magic mirror co offer three different packages, starting at £275 with additional items avalible. 

Dreamwave events offer many different decorative items for hire, one that caught my attention was an ‘APPLAUSE’ light box, which would fit in perfectly with one of my bride’s who’s thinking of having a theatre wedding. There’s also Emaline Venue Styling who have a ton, and I mean a ton, of props and accessories to make sure your venue is how you visioned it! The ladies I talked to were lovely, we talked about the amount of tea sets they offer and how they’re begging to dip into steampunk accessories- something I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for! 

For invitations there was only one lady there, but her range of invitations were stunning. Poly Pickle offer a vast selection of invitations that can be customised to make the invitations truly you. I must say I do have a soft spot for her art deco/1920’s design! 

The ladies at Sole Bay Strings are true artists! They offer a wide, and I mean wide, range of songs to be performed that are appropriate for the collection. From classical to rock and pop, Hymns and Carol’s to Film, TV and radio themes to bollywood! The list seems almost endless! 

Now I realise at this point this post is getting very long, so I’m going to skip the snobby photographers and the talented but many cake makers. I’ll leave you to my best three exhibitors of the day. 

When I first saw Joe Baker I was hoping to be able to slide away, being sceptical for magicians but alas I was pulled in to try out a few of his tricks. And I have to say, I was blown away, from moving foam bunnies to named cards, he would be perfect for an ice breaker or for the kids! 

My second favourite stall was wishheart tiara design. The lady running it was so kind to let me try a few on, and I fell in love with the one shown in the gallery below, the rose gold and copper butterfly tiara. She does of course have blingy tiaras too, all handmade from vintage gems, freshwater pearls and swarovski crystals-truly bespoke and beautiful pieces. 

And finally.. Drum roll please.. My favourite exhibitor today was Hannah Weeks and her illustrations! They are absolutely stunning, all digitally done- which we all know being able to do digital art is a talent in itself, she offers various portraits. From just the bride, the bride and groom together with their venue in the background, or my favourite piece, her illustrated finger print trees! These are all unique to the bride and groom, she offers stationery and table plans too! 

I apologise for this very very long post, but there was just so much to talk about! 

Leave a Reply

